The International Journal of Sustainable Lighting (IJSL) is the successor of the former Ingineria Iluminatului - Journal of Lighting Engineering, issued in Romania starting with 1999. IJSL aims to become an internationally recognized journal and to complement the existing prestigious lighting journals with an emphasis on emerging lighting issues including light pollution, chronobiology, sustainable buildings by extending its readers and authors to the worldwide lighting communities. The IJSL is an open access journal and is published bi-annaully in June, and December each year.

Aims and Scope

The International Journal of Sustainable Lighting is based on a change of paradigm from energy-efficiency to trans-disciplinarity (including energy, ecology, biology, green buildings, astronomy); it is a peer reviewed scientific journal encompassing experimental, theoretical and applied research results with respect to field of sustainable lighting. It provides a forum for architects, engineers, biologists and researchers involved in the design, operation, construction and utilization of lighting.

The foremost objective is to give a quality online publication to our readers and authors. In this pursuit, our effort focuses upon quality publishing and an unquestioned commitment to the highest standards of professional and corporate ethics.


Jeong Tai Kim, Emeritus professor, Kyung Hee University, Republic of Korea

Dorin Beu, Professor, Technical University of Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Executive Editor

Geun Young Yun, Professor, Kyung Hee University, Republic of Korea

Associate editor

Catalin Daniel GALATANU, Professor, Technical University "Gh.Asachi" IASI, Romania

Jack Ngrambe, Research Professor, Kyung Hee University, Republic of Korea 

Horatiu - Calin Albu, Assistant Lecturer, Technical University of Cluj-Napoca, Romania



The Nachtlichter App

Andrea Gokus, Andreas Hänel, Andreas Ruby, Arne Dröge-Rothaar, Brita Küchly, Christopher C. M. Kyba, Daniel Fischer, David Gruber, Eva C. Weiß, Friederike Klan, Georg Sulzer, Georgia T. MacMillan, Helga Küchly, Henning von Brandis, Isabell C. Wuthenow, Jacob Koglin, Janina Mattern, Johannes A. Schultz, Johannes Veh, Katharina Leiter, Marcus Langejahn, Maria Zschorn, Marijana Pavi´c, Maximilian Blaschke, Melanie Brauchler, Michaela Leipold, Nathalie Küppers, Nona Schulte-Römer, Normän Naboulsi, Petra Bilela, Reinhart Binder, René Curwy, Sabine Frank, Sebastian Falkner, Sicco Bauer, Steffen Liese, Swantje Maurer, Tamara Rom, Thomas Kunzemann, Vita Tičinović, Yiğit Öner Altıntaş, Loeka L. Jongejans